The Delta Therapy Dog Test

06/14/2010 23:08

The test was on Saturday, the 12th, and we didn't pass, literally by an inch.

 

 

It was on the neutral dog part. They said that Sox didn't try to get to the other dog, but her head is so big that when she turned it to look at the dog, it just barely crossed the midline of my body, but it still counted against us :( 

 

Also on the neutral dog part, the way the evaluator wanted us to do it was not the way that our instructor had taught us to practice. That threw me off a little and the evaluator mentioned that another person who took the test had done the same so I'm sure she'll talk to our instructor about it.

 

But the reason that I decided to take the test was because I wanted to see just where Sox and I are based on a neutral person's evaluation of us. We've worked really hard this last 9 months. We're not going to sign up with Delta because of their recent decision to ban raw fed dogs.

 

We did get a lot of compliments and one of the volunteers remarked on how calm and not nervous I was - lol! I did feel pretty good and confident.  I was expecting to get nervous when the test actually started but I never did. The evaluator said, "The next test is in September - sign up for it!" - LOL

 

We got rated a 2 on almost everything - I'm guessing a 2 means we would be rated to go into a complex (noisy) environment? In her notes, she wrote 'Very nice team. Great dog. Your hard work showed!'

 

So I'm proud of us anyways!