Surprise Fireworks In The Park

07/05/2010 23:26

I took Sox (our pitbull) and Spice (our Chihuahua) out to the park this evening to play with some friends of mine. They have a little girl who adores and is adored by my dogs :)
 
They played and ran and romped till they were breathless, then plopped down on the ground to cool off.
 
All of a sudden, someone shot off some fireworks fairly close to us. It was pretty loud. Both dogs startled and looked, and then laid back down. They were both off leash at this point and could've easily run off. We were in no way expecting to experience a fireworks "show", you know?
 
We put their leashes back on and they continued to shoot fireworks. The dogs would look towards the sound and then look up in the air. Then the kids over in the next area started shooting off firecrackers and bottle rockets. Eventually Spice crawled up in my lap and I noticed that Sox was still panting a lot. So I told my friends I thought the dogs were getting anxious and we headed back towards the cars.
 
I was very pleased to see how well they both did and happily surprised by Spice's reaction to the fireworks.